Hitting the KCK Taco Trail

Hitting the KCK Taco Trail
Kansas City has dozens of amazing taco restaurants and food trucks

Did you know that Kansas City, Kansas has a "Taco Trail"? Is that a trail of tacos that you follow to the race track, NFM or Children's Mercy Park? Did somebody leave this trail of tacos for some prize or insidious reason?

Kansas City, Kansas indeed has dozens of Mexican restaurants and food trucks, which is enough reason for the city to promote its taco cuisine. If you want to participate, or just discover new places to eat, Visit Kansas City, Kansas has a website and an "app" that you can use to find tacos.

I love tacos and want to explore more of KCK, so let's participate! Chuck's Kansas City is going to spend the next year visiting all of the taco restaurants on the Taco Trail. I will photograph, document, review, and share my progress on this delicious quest. Here are my rules for this project.

  • My deadline is the Cinco de Mayo 2025. April 15, 2025 is the official deadline.
  • Visit all restaurants on the KCK Taco Trail, including new additions
  • Photograph every visit and food eaten
  • If a restaurant or food truck doesn't have vegetarian or seafood tacos, go with a friend who can try the tacos. Chuck will get a different menu item if possible.

I welcome you to join me on this journey or at least share your thoughts on you favorite places in Kansas City to get tacos. If you want to participate in the Trail, follow the instructions on their website. Use the hashtag #KCKTacoTrail if you are sharing on social media.

Follow my progress here on the Chuck Eats KC blog.

KCK Taco Trail
Taqueria Mexico #4

Restaurant News, Openings, and Closings

I recently published a big list of April restaurant news which you can find here.

This week's breaking news:

  • Baba's Pantry, a Palestinian American delicatessen, has teased a new bakery space, opening this summer at their current location.
  • Signs point to the first Buc-ees opening soon in the Kansas City area, possibly near the NASCAR track in Kansas City, Kansas. Popular in Texas, Buc-ees is a Texas size convenience store, gas station, barbecue joint, truck stop, and gift shop.
  • Want to try out a food hall? KCUR has a guide.
  • Ruby Jean’s juicery is closing their location at Leawood Town Center, citing lack of customers. I've been wanting to try Ruby's for years, but I drive by this location and never noticed it. Yes, the east side of that mall is invisible. I will make an effort to try and review their store on Troost.
Proposed Texas embassy, aka Buc-ees

Youtube

I’m working on new videos for my Youtube channel. Have you subscribed? Subscriptions are free and really help me out.

TikTok and Instagram

I’m also posting short videos to TikTok and Instagram. You can follow me on TikTok at @chuckeatskc. Instagram: @chuckmunson2021

Support Us Via Ko-Fi

You can support this project on Ko-Fi. This is an independent project about Kansas City area restaurants and food. We take nothing in exchange from local restaurants, so everything comes out of our own pockets.

Mastodon and Tumblr

You can find regular posts from Chuck and Chuck Eats KC on Mastodon at @chuckmunson@kibitz.cloud and Tumblr at https://www.tumblr.com/chuckeatskc.

Chuck Eats KC Blog and Website

This newsletter is part of my blog and website. Please bookmark and share it.

Chuck Eats KC is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

###