Chuck Eats KC - October 10, 2023

Weston Applefest, Review of Tacos4Life, Restaurant News

Chuck Eats KC - October 10, 2023
Weston Applefest, 2024

Weston Applefest

This past weekend, I attended Weston Applefest, which has been an annual event in Weston, Missouri since 1990. The festival celebrates the apple orchards and culture of the area. I’ve visited Weston many times this year, as I have family living there and because I’m working on a Youtube video about the town’s dining, entertainment, attraction and history.

This was my first experience of the festival and I attended on Sunday. The weather was perfect, with moderate temperature and clear skies. I thought the attendance was pretty impressive in the hours after noon, but people told me that the festival was much more packed on Saturday.

I was impressed with the selection of vendors. It’s a good sign when at least half of the vendors are doing something interesting enough for me to collect business cards. I found art, clothing, crafts, and food vendors of interest. Discovered a few food businesses that I noted for future coverage by Chuck Eats KC. I chatted with a very friendly Weston shop owner (Missouri Bluffs boutique). Got a tip from another vendor about where to find leather working supplies. Discovered a local 3D design company that makes figurines of the kind the kids love.

Speaking of kids, the Applefest is a very family friendly event. In addition to the food options, parade, and vibe of a small town main street, there are activities for kids. There was a petting zoo with sheep, goats and other animals. A miniature pony ride. A bounce house and other activities. A local Boy Scout troop replicated several famous works of art which had face holes where kids (and adults) could stick their face for funny photographs.

I liked the organization of the festival, including an area for food trucks. The food truck options included something for everyone. There was an eating area next to the food trucks, which also had a music stage.

It was also good to see lots of security across the town and well-marked volunteers.

Sunday crowd. They said that Saturday was much bigger.

Room for Improvement

Overall, I found the Weston Applefest to be an outstanding small town festival. But what could it do to be a little better? A few thoughts:

  1. Apples - An apple festival really should have apples front and center. I was disappointed that the apple fritters stand had been moved four or five blocks away from the main street of Weston. I don’t know the reasons behind the move of that feature this year, but it really should be on or near the main street. I also didn’t see any banners about the festival above the main street, nor did I see many posters. It also might be worth pursuing more visible partnerships with local orchards. Several of them had tables, but they were mixed in with other retail and artist booths. I also didn’t see the apple parade on Saturday, so maybe I’ll change this take next year.
  2. Tents - This year, there was no tent or roof or shelter for the main music stage. The musicians were up there in the full sun on a cloudless day. The dining area next to the stage also needs a tent. There was very little shade around the event, other than some trees and vendor tents.
  3. Accessibility - I was driving a car with disability tags and I couldn’t find a place to park the car. The one accessible lot I spotted was full. I later ran across a street with lots of designated disability parking—evidently few people knew about this zone.
  4. Parking - Any small town that is inundated with thousands of visitors over a couple of days will have challenges when it comes to parking. Lots of local residents and organizations make money from event parking, but I see room for a few improvements. There needs to be a designated lot for local residents and their friends and family. If households are getting two parking passes, there needs to be a place to park. I’d also like to see at least one lot with affordable parking, say around $5. This can be remote, but not all of us can afford $20 for parking and hope to spend money at the event.

Overall, I’m impressed with Weston Applefest and look forward to attending next year!

Omnivorium food truck.

Quick Review: Tacos4Life

When it comes to fast food, it’s rare that I run across something new that knocks my socks off when it comes to flavor, format, and execution. Bonus points if the discovery has affordable vegetarian options. Taco4Life is a small national chain that offers craft tacos and donates a portion of sales to child hunger programs around the world. While I haven’t researched the programs, I love this concept. The longer version of this review for the blog will have more information about these programs.

Tacos4Life has a location in Overland Park and one in Blue Springs. I was impressed with the design of the menus (I’m a UX expert) and the organization of the ordering area and dining room. The dining room had a hip vibe, but wasn’t too cringe or overwhelming. There was also a large dining patio outside.

On my recent visit, I tried the Seared Tofu and the Blackened Mahi-Mahi soft tacos. Was very impressed with the flavors of both tacos and the portion sizes. I could definitely feel satiated with just one of these tacos.

It’s very hard to find tofu tacos around Kansas City (or anywhere), which is surprising given that tofu is a classic, popular protein for vegetarians and vegans. The tofu carries the wealth of flavors in this taco: pico de gallo, lime, roasted corn, cabbage, avocado, and roasted poblano salsa. Lots of moisture without being very messy and drippy.

The mahi-mahi taco had fish that tasted good, “yum-yum sauce,” lime, and citrus slaw. The slaw is an important component here. I’ve long wished that more restaurants would use slaw in their burgers and grilled sandwiches.

12180 Blue Valley Pkwy, Overland Park, KS 66213
Tacos4life.com

Seared Tofu tacos
Blackened Mahi-Mahi
Dining room is funky, modern, and homey. Love it!

Openings, Closings and Restaurant News

  • Elsa’s Ethiopian Restaurant at 8016 Santa Fe Drive in Overland Park is closing. It’s been open since 2011. Mesob Restaurant & Rhum Bar, which is currently located on Broadway in KCMO, is opening its first Kansas location in the space. Mesob offers Ethiopian and Caribbean dishes.
  • A Missouri chain of bars, International Tap House, is opening a new location this month in Lee’s Summit at 3rd in Main Street.
  • Alsuper Mexican Market is opening in 2024 at 10400 Shawnee Mission Pkwy. The concept will be a market and kitchen with food to-go.
  • Waldo Thai and Buck Tui are opening a food truck called Sandos Shack that will offer “comfort food with a twist.” It will be serving in the City Market neighborhood.
  • The owners of Grand Street Café, Rick & Kristi Ghirdli, recently sold their Plaza location to their general manager. They are opening a new location in Lenexa.
  • The Big Biscuit is planing to open a new location in the former Don Chilito’s space at 7017 Johnson Drive.

Calendar

Oct. 21-22, 2023 ~ MIDWEST tea festival, 11am-5pm, Overland Park Convention Center, Overland Park, KS

Youtube

I’m working on new videos for my Youtube channel. Have you subscribed? Subscriptions are free and really help me out.

TikTok and Instagram

I’m also posting short videos to TikTok and Instagram. You can follow me on TikTok at @chuckeatskc. Instagram: @chuckeatskc

Support Us Via Ko-Fi and Patreon

You can support this project on Ko-Fi and via Patreon. This is an independent project about Kansas City area restaurants and food. We take nothing in exchange from local restaurants, so everything comes out of our own pockets.

Mastodon and Tumblr

You can find regular posts from Chuck and Chuck Eats KC on Mastodon at @chuckmunson@kibitz.cloud and Tumblr at https://www.tumblr.com/chuckeatskc.

Chuck Eats KC Blog and Website

This newsletter is part of my blog and website. Please bookmark and share it.

Chuck Eats KC is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

###