Chuck Eats KC - August 23, 2023

Tis the season for Farmers' Markets. Restaurant openings, closings, and news.

Chuck Eats KC - August 23, 2023
Lulu's Thai Noodles

Openings, Closings and Restaurant News

  • Discourse Brewing is a new microbrewery set to open in September in the Windmill Square Shopping Center. This is just south of 95th and Metcalf Ave. in Overland Park, Kansas.
  • Lulu’s Thai Noodle Shop has opened a new location in Overland Park at 7921 Santa Fe Drive.
  • Private chef Ashley Bare is opening Hemma Hemma in the former District Pour House + Kitchen space at 7122 Wornall Road in Kansas City, Missouri (Waldo). The concept will feature a cafeteria, coffee bar, and instructional kitchen.
  • Random's Coffee has opened in Belton, Missouri at 414 Main Street.
  • Genghis Khan Mongolian Grill on West 39th street closed this week, citing staffing issues.
  • Kimchi and Bap is opening a stall this week at the Lenexa Public Market.
  • Kata Nori Hand Roll Bar is opening in late August in the Crossroads District at 404 E. 18th Street.
  • An Indian-style pizza restaurant called Pizza Palace is opening this week in Lawrence, Kansas at 125 E. 10th St.
  • Paris Bánh Mì is opening this fall at 1106 Westport Road in Kansas City, Missouri. This is the former location of Mike’s Wine and Spirits.
  • Kansas City chefs are competing on national TV to represent their 'underrated' culinary scene
  • Abelardo’s Mexican Fresh is opening a new location in Shawnee in a former Kentucky Taco Hut building at 5650 Hedge Lane Terrace.
  • Aspens Restaurant and Lounge at 6995 W. 151st St. in Overland Park has closed. The restaurant was the site of some controversy.
  • Char Bar is opening a new location this Fall in Parkville. It will be located in the new Creekside Development, which is located near Interstate 435 and Missouri Highway 45.
  • Johnson County is adding a new free bus route serving Lenexa, Mission, and the Overland Park Farmers’ Market.
  • Palacio Maya Mexican Restaurant is coming to the former IHOP location at 5201 NW 64th Street in Platte County.

Reader and Viewer Questions

I often get questions from readers and viewers. I make an effort to research answers to these questions, but often it’s smart to ask around. Do you know the answers to thee questions or have helpful clues?

  • What was the seafood restaurant on I-35 and Broadway from 1980’s?
  • What was the seafood buffet on State Line?
  • Was there a Mexican Restaurant in Kansas City, Kansas or Missouri that had a big gold colored metal medallion on the front doors. Family owned. “Casa something”or other?

Farmers’ Market Season

The Kansas City area is blessed by a wide selection of farmers’ markets and food stands. I’m not sure if we have as many as five or ten years ago, but I’m always discovering a new spot. I cook a lot at home, but I don’t patronize markets as much as I’d like to. Let’s take a look at what’s out there right now and a few places I’ve discovered

I’m compiling a guide to area farmers’ markets. If you can help me add active markets, please check this guide to see what is currently listed.

I have patronized farmers’ markets in all of the cities where I have lived. My favorite was the weekly Saturday market around the State Capitol building in Madison, Wisconsin. Vendors circled the square and vehicle traffic was closed down. I lived two blocks away, so it was easy for me to cart goodies home. One favorite vendor was the lady who would yell out “FRESH CHEESE CURDS, SO FRESH THEY SQUEAK!” This market also introduced me to pesto as something I could take home and add to dishes (over the years I’ve grown my own basil and have the recipe memorized).

The grandma of Kansas City farmers’ markets is the daily, year round market at the City Market. Of course, the weekend version has all the farmer’s and vendors, but the City Market overall has that daily market vibe. At this time of the year, you can probably find local corn, melons, lopes, and tomatoes from various vendors. On Saturdays, the market also has a table where SNAP participants can get tokens.

The next largest and prominent market of note is the Overland Park farmers’ market in downtown Overland Park. This market has dozens of vendors, a permanent roofed structure, SNAP accessibility, live music, and much more.

One smaller Saturday market I visit once in a while is the Brookside Farmer’s Market at 6425 Wornall Road. I’d love to see more markets like this one. Neighborhood markets. Across the metro.

California Market, Holmes Rd. and Blue Ridge Blvd., KCMO
California Market, Holmes Rd. and Blue Ridge Blvd., KCMO
California Market, Holmes Rd. and Blue Ridge Blvd., KCMO
Cristina Produce, City Market, KCMO
Viewing the August 2017 total solar eclipse at the City Market

Photo of the Week

Take Home Tofu Salad Platter, You Say Tomato

Youtube

I’m working on new videos for my Youtube channel. Have you subscribed? Subscriptions are free and really help me out.

TikTok and Instagram

I’m also posting short videos to TikTok and Instagram. You can follow me on TikTok at @chuckeatskc. Instagram: @chuckmunson2021

##